FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

General Description of the Department.
The Department of Economics was established in September 1999, by Presidential Decree No 211/3-9-99 (Off. J. of the Hellenic Republic.179 '/06-09-1999). The Department is located in Volos, in the Region of Thessaly, Central Greece.
The Department of Economics aims at:


  • cultivating and developing the Science of Economics, especially in the fields of Banking and Finance, Institutions & Economic Development and Business Economics, which determine economic development.
  • educating economists to become capable of further advancing economic knowledge and apply it both at the level of state economic policy and at the level of firms, as well to predict various economic phenomena.


The Secretariat of the Department.
Korai 43,
38333 Volos,
tel. 2421074913-2421074771

fax. 2421074772

The secretariat of the department is responsible for administrative, academic and student affairs.

Students may use the facilities of the Central University Library, located at the central building of the University, as well as the facilities of the Library's section located on the Polytechnic School campus (Pedion Areos). The Central University Library is one of the first fully on line libraries in Greece.
All the services -i.e. ordering, booking, etc.- are conducted and operated through the computer system of the Central Library in Volos, which is connected to all the Departments of the University located in Larissa, Karditsa and Trikala.

The library is open for research to all students and academic staff, as well as to all researchers in the region.

Historical Notes.
The University of Thessaly was founded in 1984 through presidential decision 83/1984 which was modified in 1985. It is a State University under the supervision of the Ministry of Education. Initially, the administration of the University was assigned to an Administrative Committee, which functions ended with the appointment of the first Rector and Vice Rectors, in February 1999.

Its main decision-making bodies are:

  • the Senate,
  • the Rector's Council and
  • the Rector.

Although it is a new Institution, it has proved to be a modern and dynamic University that has managed to expand significantly during the last few years. The seat of the University is the town of Volos.
University of Thessaly has reached high levels of development with the function of 16 Departments, 5 Programs of Graduate Studies, 2 Interdepartmental Extended University Programs and 3 Extended University Programs.
For more information visit University's website at

Department of Economics - University of Thessaly © 2009 | a 9Above creation