mycloud logoask4it logobooking logolabapps logo 3
erasmus transpaiesec logo headeregramdep 
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • 24210 74771
  • 24210 74776
  • 28hs Octovriou 78, Volos, P.C. 38333

Historical Notes.

The University of Thessaly was founded in 1984 through presidential decision 83/1984 which was modified in 1985. It is a State University under the supervision of the Ministry of Education. Initially, the administration of the University was assigned to an Administrative Committee, which functions ended with the appointment of the first Rector and Vice Rectors, in February 1999.

Its main decision-making bodies are:

  • the Senate,
  • the Rector's Council and
  • the Rector.

Although it is a new Institution, it has proved to be a modern and dynamic University that has managed to expand significantly during the last few years. The seat of the University is the town of Volos.
University of Thessaly has reached high levels of development with the function of 16 Departments, 5 Programs of Graduate Studies, 2 Interdepartmental Extended University Programs and 3 Extended University Programs.


panepistimio thessalias


For more information visit University's website at

Administrative Structure